Bail Bond for Sex Crime in Connecticut
Sexually assault generally refers to any criminal offense where the offender subjects the victim to unwanted and offensive sexual touching. These crimes may include sexual groping, sexual battery, and attempted rape.
Under Connecticut law, there are four degrees of sexual assault. First-degree sexual assault is the most serious and fourth degree is the least serious. In addition to the various degrees, there other factors that could make the crimes more or less severe.
Statutory Rape Charge Defense
Connecticut prohibits an adult (someone aged 18 and above) from having sex with a minor (someone aged 16 and below). It doesn’t matter if the sex is consensual.
If you break this law, you can be charged with statutory rape. Statutory rape laws are based on the assumption that minors cannot give informed consent to sexual activities. This incapability is written into the statute, hence the term “statutory rape.”
Statutory rape may not require that the prosecutor proves an assault, but it is still rape. It is worth noting that rape that doesn’t involve an assault or force is also illegal in Connecticut and is prosecuted as forcible rape.
Offenders facing statutory rape charges usually have the same defenses as all criminal defendants, such as:
- The alleged crime didn’t happen
- Someone else committed the crime
Other statutory rape defendants claim that there’s no way they would have known that their partner was a minor. They may argue that the victim represented herself as older than she was and that any reasonable person would have fallen for her claim. However, the mistake of age is not a defense under Connecticut laws.
Moreover, Connecticut has a marital exemption for statutory rape, which allows a married couple to have consensual sex even if their ages wouldn’t allow if they were not married.
In Connecticut, statutory rape is prosecuted under the state’s sexual assault laws and the penalties depend on the nature of the offense and the ages of the offender and victim. Here’s a more detailed look at the various offenses and respective penalties:
- First-degree sexual assault encompasses sexual intercourse between a minor aged 12 and below and a defendant aged at least 2 years more than the victim. It is a class A felony that has a fine of up to $20,000 and 10-25 years in prison.
- If you have sexual intercourse with a minor aged 14 or 15 and you are at least 2 years older than the minor, you have committed a second-degree sexual assault. You’ll face a class B felony charge, which carries a fine of up to $15,000 and 1-20 years in prison.
- If you have sexual contact with a minor aged 14 and below, regardless of your age, you have committed a fourth-degree sexual assault. This is a class D felony, which results in a fine of up to $5,000 and 1-5 years in prison.
Help for Those Charged with Sex Offense and Eligible for Bail in CT
If you are facing sexual assault charges in Connecticut and are eligible for bail, you might need the help of a professional bail bond agent to help secure a sex offender bail bond. Simply call our bail bondsman in Connecticut if you need bail help by clicking on the following number: (860) 469-4550.
For information on disorderly conduct in Connecticut, click here.
Three Heroes Honored at Hartford City Council Meeting
Three locals were honored for their heroic act of rescuing the life of a police officer who was stabbed during an argument.
This History of the Mafia in Connecticut
Believe it or not, but the Mafia actually has a rich and colorful history in Connecticut. Though many parts of Connecticut are rural and quaint, crime still managed to seep across the border and run rampant within its confines—particularly in New Haven.
CT State Prisons
Some of the well-known state prisons in Connecticut